Skip to content

Novel Red cloth pad review

November 6, 2014

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Made in the USA, Novel red pad come in either a curvy style or a straight style, I bought two 7″ curvy pads as I prefer the extra coverage. The Maker uses bamboo flannel or microterry as a core, windpro fleece as a water resistant backer, and a variety of top fabrics including flat woven cotton, organic cotton, cotton flannel, crushed velvet, and minky. The pads range from 7″ to 13″ in length and between 2″ and 2.75″ in width.

DSC_0385

 

These pads are very thin as the core doesn’t quite go up to the edges, which makes them undetectable under jeans. They are flexible as the core material is very thin as well as being absorbent, and the stitching on these pads is great, they are very well made. I found the shape to be very comfortable and gave just the right amount of coverage for me, the wings weren’t too wide so they didn’t bunch the pads as so many triangle wing seem to for me, I genuinely forgot I was wearing then they were that comfy. I used them both as a menstrual cup backup, as they are small and thin enough not to annoy me and have plenty of absorbency incase of a leak( I don’t get regular breaks at work so need absorbent backup just in case) and I used them as a flow pad and they held up great for the middle to end of my cycle. The 7″ pads I have are 2.5″ wide which is about perfect for me unfortunately the larger sized pads are wider and therefore not suitable for me although I’m sure a custom order could be sorted out as the lady who runs the store gives excellent customer service and is very enthusiastic!

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, these 7 inch pads could take a full 3 cups before they started to leak, the which for their size is actually really good. For reference I did the same with an overnight Always disposable pad, it could hold 5 cups.
Overall my favourite things about these pads were the shape and thinness , the high quality and craftsmanship, and the excellent customer service.
My only real criticism would be that when I was looking to make another custom order I could not find a clear link to available fabrics, this might be because I only use my phone I don’t have access to a computer at the moment so can’t check it out on there. There is a link to the Facebook page and twitter but there are only a few pictured fabrics on the Facebook so either this is all that’s available, in which case I think more variety would be good, or the fabrics are listed somewhere else but I can’t find where so clearer direction is needed,
but the actual pads are great and will remain in my stash for a long time.
If you would like to try Novel Red pads here are the links:
https://www​.etsy.com/shop/NovelRed
https://www​.facebook.com/NovelRedCloth
https://mobile.twitter.com/novelred

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Ash permalink

    Beautiful pads, and great absorbency! I was just looking into these pads, and your review just makes me want them more!

    • Glad to have helped! They are great thin and absorbent and the lady who makes them is lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

