Skip to content

Pampered mama

December 11, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Pampered Mama pads are made in the US, with a high quality water resistant fleece, and a variety of top fabrics to choose from these are some of the most popular brands in the cloth pad world. They offer pads in sizes 7″, 9″, 11″, 13″, 15″, and 17″, the absorbent core is bamboo fleece, the backing is thin fleece, and the choice of top fabrics include, jersey, bamboo velour, bamboo terry, flat cotton, sherpa, minky, flannel, an cotton velour. The two I bought are shown in the pictures below, the blue is a jersey topped regular 9″ pad, and the red is a jersey topped heavy 9″ pad, you can tell the different absorbency by the colour coded snaps; blue is for postpartum, red is for heavy or overnight, pink is for regular and white is for pantyliner.

photo 1 (2) photo 2 (2) photo 3 (2)

These pads are some of the comfiest I own, they’re so thin they conform to your body and are barely noticeable. I love wicking jersey, that’s the main reason I decided to try these pads as she is know for minky topped pads, which I have found that even living in the UK, minky is way to warm and unbreathable for me, I was unaware of the fact that she did so many different top layers until i watched a youtube review on them and the reviewer mentioned this. The fabric and stitching are all the best quality, the label is stitched behind the snaps to reinforce them against the fleece.

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, the 9 inch day pad could take a full 4 cups before it started to leak, and the 9″ heavy took 5 and a half cups which for its size and absorbency level is brilliant. For reference I did the same with an overnight Always disposable pad, it could hold 5 cups.

I would definitely buy from this brand again, the customer service was great and the pads are such great quality I would recommend these pads to anyone apart from side bleeders as there is zero absorbency in the wings, this is fine for me but obviously would be trouble anyone who is prone to bleeding to the side.

You can buy Pampered Mama pads at her shop http://hyenacart.com/stores/PamperedMama/index.php?c=22 she also has a facebook page https://www.facebook.com/apamperedmama?fref=ts

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

