Skip to content

Etsy Seller: Trojacek Farms Cloth Pad Review 2013

August 19, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Made in the US by a lady called Patti, these are excellently made pads, they consist of a top layer of either minky, OBV, or flannel, an absorbent core of either flannel, cotton terry, or zorb, then a backing of either water resistant fleece or PUL and flannel.

For my order I chose 2, narrow width, 10 inch heavy pads with OBV tops, zorb cores, and PUL with flannel backs so they’re really thin.

photo 1 (4) photo 2 (5) photo 3 (6)

Her normal with pads are 2.5 or 3 inches wide when snapped but mine are just 2.25 inches which perfect for me, she has a wide range of fabrics available, the top fabrics available include cotton flannel, OBV, and minky, they have cores or flannel for liners or light pads, and layers of terry or zorb cores for regular and heavy pads. you have the option of either PUL and flannel backed pads or fleece backed pads, I chose PUL as I only have a couple of PUL pads and I don’t have any issue with them plus I wanted super thin pads to wear with tight jeans.

They have the absorbency on the back which is useful and done very professionally, the stitch work is flawless and i’m very impressed with the construction of these pads they feel like they will last a long time. I have used these pads for about 4 cycles so have a good idea how they cope and they’re amazing! Despite only having the one layer of zorb when most of my heavy pads have 2 layers, these pads lasted almost as long as the dual zorb pads, a full 6 hours on my heaviest day! I attribute this performance to the excellent construction and stitch work of these pads.

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, these 10 inch medium to heavy pads could take a full 5 cups before they started to leak! which s great considering she sells even heavier duty pads! For reference I did the same with an overnight Always disposable pad, it could hold 5 cups also.

I love these pads, they’re beautifully made, use high quality fabric, they’re comfortable, thin, and very absorbent. The UK shipping for 1 pad is less than £2 which is a good price for an american made pad. I highly recommend these pads very highly!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

