Skip to content

Etsy Seller: Mama Kloth Cloth Pad Review 2013

July 15, 2013

Made in Canada, these pads are incredibly thin, definitely thinner than Yurtcraft and maybe even as thin as County Cloth Creations but the pads can hold more than either of these brands. The seller uses high quality materials, the topping is either hand dyed bamboo velour, high quality cotton flannel, minky, ultra thin bamboo jersey , or high quality quilters cotton in a vast array of prints! The backing is soft cream coloured (in most cases) water resistant poly fleece, and the core is bamboo/organic cotton fleece, my two 9 inch regular pads have 2 layers of this in their core. They come in sizes 6 inch, 7 inch, 8 inch, 9 inch, 11 inch, and 13 inch, I know she does custom orders so I’d assume that if 10 inches is your perfect length then she would make one for you on request, or her shop may just be out of stock of 10 inch pads at the moment. apart from the 13 inch long pads which are 3 inches in width, the rest of the pads are 2.5 inches when snapped and I think some of the shorter pads have a second snap setting for a smaller width though again I’m sure she’d be happy to do a custom order with extra snap settings for the longer pads too. From what I can tell 2 layers of bamboo/organic cotton fleece is the standard for all the pads apart from the pantyliners which have one layer and the 13 inch postpartum pads which have 3 layers, I am hoping she will be willing to do a heavy pad in a shorter length for me as I go from very heavy for 2 days to quite light for 2-3 days so there’s not really much need for any middle ground in that respect, but I do plan to make a custom order regardless because she has so many beautiful fabrics to choose from!

image image

These are my 2 Nevermore prints 9 inch regular pads and I also received the free gift of a bamboo terry face cloth/wipe which is gorgeous and so soft.

I decided to put these regular pads to the test and wore one of them on my heaviest day (and it was VERY heavy) Just to see how well it lasted. I was impressed, I usually have to change my heavy pads once every 3 hours on a heavy day, this regular pad lasted 2 and a half hours! It didn’t leak either I only changed because I could feel the fabric was damp against my skin, which is an issue i have with cotton topped pads on my heavy days as i do tend to gush a lot so the fabrics for my heavy pads need to be fast absorbers for me to stay feeling dry. But still it shows how far these pads can go and still not leak.

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, these 9 inch regular pads could take a full 3 and a half cups untill the top fabric became so water logged I could not pour any more onto it, although it still did not leak through the back. This is pretty respectable considering the it’s only a regular pad and it’s so thin. For reference I did the same with an overnight Always disposable pad, it could hold 5 cups

The fleece is amazing on these pads, its ultra thin but very very water resistant, the maker, Nicole, did a you tube video which shows just how resistant they are, find it at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7tox1G7tOk

I have experimented with it myself and you have to utterly soak the pad before anything will get through this fleece.

The wings are an unusual shape but I like them, they have a degree of movement in them that allows them to fit most types of underwear well and conform to your body regardless of what you’re wearing, they are thin and not at all bulky.

Overall these pads have quickly become some of my favourite slim regular pads, I feel comfortable wearing them at work, with tight clothes and on moderate to heavy days and feel fully secure knowing they are almost definitely not going to leak. I love them and have just put in an order for some more!

UPDATE!

I got my custom order through a couple of weeks ago and they’re so pretty!

photo 1

 

Just thought I’d share!

One Comment
  1. Marie permalink

    Very interesting prints and design that peaked my interest but again shipping is more than I would like to pay 😦 Shame

Leave a Reply

