Skip to content

Etsy Seller: Yurtcraft Cloth Pad Review 2013

June 29, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Really popular cloth pad seller on etsy, These pads are made in the US by a lady called Lisa. Yurtcraft are known as some of the thinnest pads other than Party in my Pants (which I unfortunately can’t review as the cost of the pad plus the shipping to the UK was INSANE) Yurtcraft are also known for their impeccable stitch work, they look factory made but are similar prices to the other pads on etsy.

photo 1 (4)

(Above: 4 hand sewn stars for ultra absorbency indicator)

To indicate absorbency she hand sews little stars on the wings of the pads, 1 star is for a light pad, 2 stars is for a regular, 3 stars is for a heavy, and 4 stars is for an ultra.

photo 2 (5)

(Above: Thickness of ultra pad)

photo 3 (5)

(Above: 9.25 inch heavy pad, 8 inch ultra pad)

Her pads come in many sizes, at this current time she has 6 inch, 7 inch, 8 inch, 9.25 inch, 10.5 inch, and 12.5 inch long pads though I’m fairly certain she would custom make any length for you, all pads are 2.5 inches wide. They all have a bamboo/organic cotton core but it doesn’t say how many layers in each absorbency as it doesn’t specify on her shop page.

She also uses an oval of  top stitching at the core of the pad to keep the flow towards the middle instead of running off the edges.

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, both the heavy and ultra pads both take 3 cups worth of water before leaking this is fairly good going and considering the pads are so thin it’s actually quite impressive. For reference I do the same test on an overnight Always disposable pad, this pad can take 5 cups worth before leaking.

I find these pads to be very well made, the patterns are fun and all the fabrics used are very high quality, unfortunately I found that they didn’t quite fit my body right and bunched and chafed a bit, possibly because I’m petite. She does offer the option of adding an extra snap but I’ve found that on other pads that offer this, the smaller snap makes the pad bunch even more so I don’t think I’ll try this.

Overall I can completely understand why so many people love these pads, they’re well made, they’re thin, absorbent, and pretty, they just don’t fit me right.

They can be bought at http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/yurtcraft?ref=shop_sugg

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Marie permalink

    Very insightful review despite the fact they did not work for you like other brands. Love how your posts are never negative but allow readers to make an informed choice. While being petite like you, and even after reading your post, I just couldn’t resist ordering a couple of her products though I have ordered a PL with normal width and a Heavy one but with a narrow snap width to see if that makes a difference. Just really loved her prints which I know shouldn’t be the deciding factor lol

  2. Marie permalink

    Despite her lovely Xmas prints, it was a white classic Star Trek print that sealed it 😉

Leave a Reply

