Skip to content

Orgopads Cloth Pad Review

June 21, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Made in the US, Orgopads have had many redesigns, all 5 of my Orgopads are an old design although one is slightly newer but still not the pattern she currently uses.

image

Above: 4 Sale old style pads, 2 nine inch light pads, and 2 eleven inch heavy pads.

photo 5 (1)

orgopads offer a choice of top fabric from flat cotton, cotton flannel, or minky. ( I chose flat cotton as I find flannel and minky too hot). The inner absorbent core is of zorb and the backing is of fleece.
The regular pads contain 1.5 layers of zorb with the smaller layer being in the middle so as to add absorbency to the most needed area while still keeping the edges trim.
I like the idea of these pads but I found the old style chuffed the inside of my thighs because of the way the wings are sewn and the newer style was just far too wide for me so they didn’t really work for me in that respect however as always that doesn’t mean they won’t work for you.

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks. The two regular pads took 4 cups before leaking the two old style heavy pads took 6 cups before leaking and the newer style took 7 cups before leaking. For reference I do the same test on an overnight Always disposable pad, this pad can take 5 cups worth before leaking.

photo 4 (1)

Overall these pads are very absorbent so as long as you can use the wider gusset they should work great for you, they be quite cushiony but many people like tge sense of security they get from this. With a variety of top fabrics to choose from they can be tailored to your needs and I imagine that the soft pillowy feel of then and the high absorbency would make them great for postpartum.
You can buy Orgopads on her website http://www.orgopads.com or follow her on facebook where she often does giveaways and sales.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

