Skip to content

Etsy Seller: Gaia Moon Cloth Pad Review 2013

June 7, 2013

 

 

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEAMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING

Made in the UK these pads a consist of a top layer of cotton print, middle layers of absorbenflannel and a backing of anti pill fleece. They come in widths 2.5 inches and some in 2.75 inches and lengths 11 inches, 9 inches, 8 inches, and 7 inches with varying absorbencies depending on what she has in stock. The design is really good, they are turned and top stitched, they don’t bunch or move around they have a slight flare for extra coverage but its not over the top, and they’re really slim. Both pads I got were heavy pads (4 layers of flannel) one 9 inch (star wars) and one 11 inch (snoopy) but both are really slim I could barely feel them there, they may be the slimmest pads I own. Also they are nice and cool for summer with the cotton topping which is much more breathable than OBV or minky. The pads have two lines of zig zag stitching down the core to secure the core to the top and to create channels which direct the flow to the centre of the pad(they don’t go all the way through the pad, just the top and core) I find this very effective. The cotton prints she has are so cool too! I got snoopy and Star Wars! She has some comic book ones plus non sci fi ones too though she has promised she will  be making some new star trek ones and some more Star Wars ones which I am very excited about!

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, the 9 inch heavy pads could take about 3 and a half cups before starting to leak, which considering the size and that its inner layers are of flannel and they are so thin is actually really good, the 11 inch took just over 4 and a half cups. i can say that I am very happy with this result and will be buying more for the summer. For reference I did the same with an overnight Always disposable pad (11 inches) it could hold 5 cups.

image

image

My favourite thing about these pads is how cool the prints are! I love them, they’re also the most absorbent flannel core pads I have and they fit really nicely with the flares offering some good extra coverage but not being too bulky. The seller is also really lovely and gives great customer service, I was actually her very first customer and she sent me a message saying thank you and let me know that if I had any queries, questions or problems that I could contact her and she’d do whatever she could to help which I thought was very sweet.

I can’t really think of anything I don’t like about these pads, I’ll say that I probably won’t wear them on my heaviest day because I am a ‘fast’ bleeder and cotton doesn’t seem to hold up to that too well in the past but I could happily wear these through through rest of my period for heavy or light days as they’re so thin it won’t really matter! I highly recommend this shop, the seller’s very new but very good and the pads are excellent quality! I believe that she is also taking custom orders so if you see a print you like but not in the size or absorbency you want then message her to see if she has any left to make a custom with. You can find her pads at http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/GaiaMoonPads she’s only just opened her shop and I’m resisting buying up half of her pads so that she has something left to entice other new customers with! But I’m keeping an eye on the shop and if the pads I want are still there next month I’m having them!

UPDATE!

I couldn’t resist!

photo 2 (5)

 

Above: (left to right) 7 inch star wars regular flow pad, 9 inch glow in the dark regular pad, 9 inch star wars regular pad, 7 inch star trek regular pad.

I’m such a dork haha

photo 3 (8)

She now includes a leaflet including information on the benefits of cloth pads both personal and environmental, a detailed explanation of how to care for and clean Gaia Moon pads, and a list of size and absorbency prices for her cloth pads.

photo 5 photo 1 (2)

The pad come through the post wrapped with a paper band which indicates which absorbency pad you bought and how to identify the different absorbencies, by the stitching. The heavy pads have a very tight zigzag stitch, the regular have a wider zigzag stitch as shown above, the light pads have a straight stitch, and the liners have no stitching at all.

I tried to get a photo of the glow in the dark pad glowing in the dark but my camera wouldn’t do it 😦 but I swear it does glow!

I love these pads so much! If you like figleaves pads, popples pads, or county cloth creations then you’ll love thee too!

 

One Comment
  1. Marie permalink

    After checking out Etsy from seeing it mentioned on a few pages, I earmarked this seller to check out some reviews. I admit your review convinced me to order a couple of her products plus she is offering 10% off during December 🙂 (I added a note to my order to give credit where it is due :-)) Couldn’t see any glow-in-the-dark ones in stock lol 😦 Just waiting on order being shipped and hope they work for me.

Leave a Reply

