Skip to content

Jimmy Riddles Cloth Pad Review 2013

May 21, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEAMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Made in the UK these are some of my new favourite pads, they’re very trim any very fast absorbers. They are topped with hand dyed organic bamboo velour and the absorbent core is of  bamboo and cotton French terry, I think she may have few pads with a hemp and cotton fleece core also. There is a choice of backing between polar fleece, PUL, or wool. There are also several different sizes;

Light pad: 8 inches long and 2 inches wide

Regular pad: 9 inches long and 2 inches wide

Regular plus pad: 9 inches long and 2 inches wide, the plus version has slightly larger ends to provide more protection.

Regular wrap pad: 9 inches long and 2.5  inches wide, the wrap pad has larger bamboo velour wings for extra coverage at the sides.

Regular plus wrap pad: same as above but with wider ends for extra coverage

Maxi pad wrap: 10 inches long and 2.5 inches wide, for a light to moderate flow for those who prefer a longer pad, with wrap style wings.

Heavy pad: 11 inches long and 2.75 inches wide

Heavy wrap pad: 11 inches long and 2.75 inches wide with wrap style wings

Night pad: 12 inches long and 3 inches wide

Night wrap pad: same as above but with wrap style wings

Postpartum pad: 12 inches long and 3.25 inches wide with a flare at the ends of 5.5 inches

Postpartum wrap pad,: same as above but with wrap style wings.

I think this is just what they had in stock on http://www.luxurymoon.co.uk which is the only place I can find that sells them, so I’m sure you can get the plus versions in the heavy or light pads etc. They obviously have a huge selection of different styles, sizes and backing fabrics to suit what you like. The bamboo velour they use is very short pile so it doesn’t have a fluffy kind of feel which I like as I find fluffy fabrics a bit warm. The velour is still really soft even after washing several times and it still grabs moisture amazingly well and absorbs almost instantly. They’re probably the fastest absorbing pads I own and stay feeling dry untill they’re at leaking point.

photo 2 (6)photo 3 (7)

Above: Regular pad and regular plus pad, back of regular and regular plus pads (fleece)

photo 4 (4)

Above: Thickness of regular pad.

image

Above: Heavy pad with label atatched

photo 4 (6)photo 3 (9)

Above: Regular and heavy pads, label that comes with Jimmy Riddles heavy pad.

photo 1 (2)

Above: a regular absorbency wrap style pad

photo 3 (5) photo 4 (4)

Above: Postpartum pad

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, the Jimmy Riddles regular pads both took 4 cups of water before leaking during the 5th, this is amazing from such slim regular pads, the moisture was absorbed almost immediately as I watched! I also tested the heavy pads and they took 6 cups before leaking, and my only postpartum pad which took 12 cups before starting to leak on the 13th! I’ve never had children so don’t have any first hand experience of postpartum bleeding but i’d imagine it’d have to be pretty hardcore for this pad not to cope. I’m not planning on having kids anytime soon but am tempted to buy a postpartum stash from Jimmy Riddles just in case by the time I do get pregnant they’ve stopped being made for some reason! For reference I also test an overnight Always disposable pad which can take 5 cups of water, so a regular pad taking almost the same amount as an overnight disposable pad is very impressive and puts to rest anyone’s fears that cloth cannot hold as much as chemically treated disposables!

I have more of these pads than of any other brand they are my favourites at the moment, I started off with the 2 regular pads and after seeing how well they worked got the two heavy pads, one with a PUL back and one with the fleece just to see if it made much difference and to be honest the fleece backed took slightly more in my water test which is interesting. I then got a regular wrap style pad as they’d run out of the other style and I was curious as to how comfy they’d be and if the held anymore than the other regulars I had. Turns out that because of the wings being longer it brings the width out to 2.5 inches though the absorbent core is only 2 inces wide which I find slightly less comfortable though would be good for women who often experience minor leaks over the sides, It also holds around the same amount as the other style, so I’ll probably wait until they restock the other style before I order again. Then I bought the first specifically Postpartum pad (fleece backed) I’ve ever owned just to see how absorbent they could get and I wasn’t disappointed, as you can see from the paragraph above it is now my most absorbent pad and despite being wider than I would normally be comfortable with, because of the style with the small wings at the back it didn’t feel awkward at all and it didn’t bunch either which was awesome, I think it managed this because it’s quite thick and not really bendable in that way.

My favourite things about these pads are; the contoured shape and small width which essential to comfort for more petite women, they are super, super, super, fast absorbers which is really important for me in the first day or two of my cycle, they can hold A LOT also very important in those first days, the fabric is really soft and not too warm for summer like many of my bamboo velour pads are, they’re a reasonably priced, and they’re pretty 🙂

The only down side I can think of is that the pads with the tab wings are hard to fold up into the envelope shape most people prefer when they’re carrying then around in their bag/purse so you’ll definately need either 2 wetbags or a double sided one to keep the pads clean in you bag. Also there’s only one website that sells them and they only seem to restock once all the pads are sold out, so if you don’t like wool backed pads as I don’t but that’s all that’s left you have to wait for them to get sold before any others come in.

They can be bought from http://www.luxurymoon.co.uk who do ship internationally.

2 Comments
  1. Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your website accidentally,
    and I’m surprised why this coincidence did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

  2. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

