Skip to content

Etsy Seller: DexyAndTheWolf Cloth Pad Review 2013

May 21, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

These pads are made in the UK and sold via her Etsy shop http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/DexyAndTheWolf she sells 2 pre made pad sizes; Regular which is 9.5 inches long by 2.5 inches wide, with one layer of zorb as the core,  and the Maxi/Night pad which is 11.5 inches long by 3 inches wide, with 2 layers of zorb as the core. She has both organic bamboo velour topped or flannel topped pads and uses a water resistant fleece backing. I believe she is taking custom orders so if you did want something slightly different then you can message her and see what she comes up with. So far I have 2 bamboo topped overnight pads but have a flannel pad ordered 🙂

These are the most absorbent pads I own, they are also really soft and comfy, the velour is quite short pile so not too warm but still good at ‘grabbing’ moisture the extra poppers make it feel really secure. The oval top stitching is where the core goes up to and then there is an extra 1/4 to 1/2 inch of velour and fleece just in case. I found these fit very well and hugged my body without chaffing, the pads are quite thick as the fabrics used are quite thick so I don’t think I’d wear one out of the house but for sleeping in or even just hanging out at home I could happily wear this and feel comfortable. There’s no flared end like you get with some overnight pads however these are so absorbent and secure I think you’d have to be a very heavy bleeder or a sleep jogger for anything to escape these pads, I wear the on the heaviest first 2 nights of my cycle and never had any leaking.

They’re a very good price too, a regular pad is £6.00 and an overnight is £7.50, postage is £1.50 to the UK plus an extra £0.50 for every extra item, postage for Europe is £1.75 (2.06 euros) plus £0.75 (0.88 euros) for every extra item, and everywhere else is £2.00 ($3.03) and another £2.00 for every extra item bought. All very reasonable prices.

photo 3 (6)photo 3 (6)

photo 2 (4)

I always do a ‘water test’ on my pads after washing them, I use my small Lunette menstrual cup (approx 20 ml capacity) and count how many cups the pad can take, I do this over the course of 10 minutes so pads with a core that is not a ‘fast’ absorbent core are likely to get a lower score in this test but may in fact hold more if left longer. I pour the water from a full small Lunette cup over the length of the pad, let it settle, then check the underneath and sides for leaks, this pad took 11 cups! And it wasn’t even leaking at this point I just got bored of waiting for it to leak and stopped at 11! I probably empty my Lunette 11 times in the first 2 days, obviously don’t leave the pad on for 2 days but if you had i’m gonna bet it’d hold! For reference I do the same test on an overnight Always disposable pad and that can take 5 cups, so these pads are more than twice as absorbent.

The lady, Sarah, who owns this shop also sews and donates cloth pads to African school girls so they can still go to school during their periods as they cant afford their own and don’t have the sanitation for disposables. I’ve donated a few of my lesser used pads, you can donate too the facebook group is https://www.facebook.com/groups/120309314723583/  its a very good cause, Sarah also repairs the donated sanitary towels and removes stains so as long as you don’t have HIV, Hepatitis or an STD then its fine if the pads you donate have been used.

I love these pads and use them every period, they’ve never leaked, never stained, and have a comfort feeling similar to hugging my favourite teddy ridiculous as that sounds. I really cant think of any complaints. Love them.

UPDATE

I bought the maxi pad flannel topper for summer! Sarah, the lady who sells these was interested to know if I found any differences in the absorbent power of these pads as one uses original zorb and one uses zorb II I’m not entirely sure what the difference is but she said she had found zorb II really hard to work with and so now makes her pads with the original zorb. I did my water test and the original zorb got 9 and a half cups while zorb II got 8 so she made the right decision really though 8 is still amazing compared to almost all other pads! They absorbed a little less than the bamboo topped maxi pads but this happened with all other pad brands with both options available, I think it’s because the bamboo velour has absorbency on its own and so can deal with a bit more than flannel, but considering on my heaviest night I only have to get up and empty my cup once I’m pretty confident that these will be plenty absorbent for my needs. Special thanks to Sarah the pad maker for letting me do this test!

photo 3 (7)

4 Comments
  1. Marie permalink

    Very intrigued by these from your review but only 2 in stock right now so on my “Wish List” if she gets more in stock. Really good to hear of a seller who contributes to charitable and worthwhile cause plus good to know there is somewhere to pass on any cloth that is unloved and unused 😉

  2. Hi, ecoladyuk,
    I am looking for a place to donate some beautiful and comfy but lightly used cloth pads. I have soaked and washed them well. Some have a shadow of a stain, but most are not stained at all, and they are in excellent shape.
    However, I have not found any of the organizations who supply pads willing to take even lightly used pads.
    You mentioned a lady named Sarah who takes lightly used pads. I am not on Facebook, so when I clicked on your link to Sarah, I just got the Facebook sign-in page, which I could not use. Do you know another way that I can contact her?
    Thank you very much!

    • If you send her a message through the dexy and the wolf etsy page using the contact me link I’m sure she’ll do her best to help you it’s very generous of you and I’m sure both Sarah and the girls will much appreciate it 🙂

      • Oh, Thank you very much. I didn’t catch that she has an Etsy shop when I read your blog post. Thank you very much for your help!

Leave a Reply

