Skip to content

Natural Mamma Menstrual Cup Review 2013

May 6, 2013

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS DETAILS OF MENSTRUAL SANITARY PRODUCTS, IF YOU ARE SQUEEMISH OF THIS TOPIC OR ARE LIKELY TO TAKE OFFENCE TO THIS DO NOT BOTHER CONTINUING.

Natural Mamma is made in Italy with medical grade silicone. It is the softest Menstrual cup I’ve tried, even softer than the MeLuna soft, but it still has a kind of ‘bounce’ which helps it pop open. The rim is not very big, about as pronounced as the Lunette which makes it easy to clean and less bulky. It has 4 air holes like many menstrual cups, so far 4 seems to be the perfect number for air holes for me to create a seal. There are a couple of unmarked measuring lines on the cup’s main body and three grip rings towards the base to help with removal, the stem is flat, flexible and an oval kind of shape with grip rings on that too.

image

The cup’s dimensions are: Diameter: 44mm, Length 56mm, Stem 15mm, Capacity: 27 ml up to the holes, 33 ml up to the rim.

At only 1 mm shorter than Diva cup this is quite a long cup so not good for ladies who have a low cervix during their periods. I bought this cup because I liked the idea of having a longer cup which had a high capacity but wasn’t too wide at the rim for me (I’m under 25 and have not had children so I don’t usually qualify for the higher capacity cups) and the Diva cup was a bit expensive for me. I found that this cup was a little long for me, I had to trim the stem completely but it was still too long unfortunately,  I could wear and didn’t have as much trouble getting it to open or form a seal as I’d expected, but when I was sitting I could feel it which isn’t ideal and would probably irritate my skin if I wore it for more than an hour.

image

However, for ladies who have a higher cervix I think this is an excellent alternative to the Diva cup. This cup is a bit softer and gentler, only slightly shorter in the body, the holes are slightly larger and therefore easier to clean, It can be worn by women regardless of age or whether or not they’ve had a baby, the manufacturer estimates an 8-10 year lifespan of the natural mamma where as Diva cup recommend replacing it once a year, and at £11 it is MUCH cheaper than Diva cup which retails in the UK at £24.99. Not that I’m trying to put down the Diva cup, many women love it, but for those who are financially challenged like me the Natural Mamma could be a very good alternative.

The Natural Mamma can be bought in the UK from http://www.femininewear.co.uk and http://www.luxurymoon.co.uk I have also seen them listed on Ebay but would recommend buying from a known menstrual products supplier, it is sanitary wear after all, you don’t want to be putting anything dodgy up there!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

